This project is mirrored from https://git.kernel.org/pub/scm/linux/kernel/git/rt/linux-rt-devel.git. Pull mirroring updated .
  1. 01 Feb, 2008 5 commits
  2. 09 Jan, 2008 1 commit
  3. 28 Nov, 2007 1 commit
  4. 25 Oct, 2007 2 commits
  5. 12 Oct, 2007 1 commit
  6. 12 Jul, 2007 4 commits
  7. 16 Feb, 2007 1 commit
  8. 07 Feb, 2007 1 commit
  9. 13 Dec, 2006 1 commit
    • Robert P. J. Day's avatar
      [PATCH] getting rid of all casts of k[cmz]alloc() calls · 5cbded58
      Robert P. J. Day authored
      
      
      Run this:
      
      	#!/bin/sh
      	for f in $(grep -Erl "\([^\)]*\) *k[cmz]alloc" *) ; do
      	  echo "De-casting $f..."
      	  perl -pi -e "s/ ?= ?\([^\)]*\) *(k[cmz]alloc) *\(/ = \1\(/" $f
      	done
      
      And then go through and reinstate those cases where code is casting pointers
      to non-pointers.
      
      And then drop a few hunks which conflicted with outstanding work.
      
      Cc: Russell King <rmk@arm.linux.org.uk>, Ian Molton <spyro@f2s.com>
      Cc: Mikael Starvik <starvik@axis.com>
      Cc: Yoshinori Sato <ysato@users.sourceforge.jp>
      Cc: Roman Zippel <zippel@linux-m68k.org>
      Cc: Geert Uytterhoeven <geert@linux-m68k.org>
      Cc: Ralf Baechle <ralf@linux-mips.org>
      Cc: Paul Mackerras <paulus@samba.org>
      Cc: Kyle McMartin <kyle@mcmartin.ca>
      Cc: Benjamin Herrenschmidt <benh@kernel.crashing.org>
      Cc: Martin Schwidefsky <schwidefsky@de.ibm.com>
      Cc: "David S. Miller" <davem@davemloft.net>
      Cc: Jeff Dike <jdike@addtoit.com>
      Cc: Greg KH <greg@kroah.com>
      Cc: Jens Axboe <jens.axboe@oracle.com>
      Cc: Paul Fulghum <paulkf@microgate.com>
      Cc: Alan Cox <alan@lxorguk.ukuu.org.uk>
      Cc: Karsten Keil <kkeil@suse.de>
      Cc: Mauro Carvalho Chehab <mchehab@infradead.org>
      Cc: Jeff Garzik <jeff@garzik.org>
      Cc: James Bottomley <James.Bottomley@steeleye.com>
      Cc: Ian Kent <raven@themaw.net>
      Cc: Steven French <sfrench@us.ibm.com>
      Cc: David Woodhouse <dwmw2@infradead.org>
      Cc: Neil Brown <neilb@cse.unsw.edu.au>
      Cc: Jaroslav Kysela <perex@suse.cz>
      Cc: Takashi Iwai <tiwai@suse.de>
      Signed-off-by: default avatarAndrew Morton <akpm@osdl.org>
      Signed-off-by: default avatarLinus Torvalds <torvalds@osdl.org>
      5cbded58
  10. 08 Dec, 2006 1 commit
    • Alan Cox's avatar
      [PATCH] tty: switch to ktermios · 606d099c
      Alan Cox authored
      
      
      This is the grungy swap all the occurrences in the right places patch that
      goes with the updates.  At this point we have the same functionality as
      before (except that sgttyb() returns speeds not zero) and are ready to
      begin turning new stuff on providing nobody reports lots of bugs
      
      If you are a tty driver author converting an out of tree driver the only
      impact should be termios->ktermios name changes for the speed/property
      setting functions from your upper layers.
      
      If you are implementing your own TCGETS function before then your driver
      was broken already and its about to get a whole lot more painful for you so
      please fix it 8)
      
      Also fill in c_ispeed/ospeed on init for most devices, although the current
      code will do this for you anyway but I'd like eventually to lose that extra
      paranoia
      
      [akpm@osdl.org: bluetooth fix]
      [mp3@de.ibm.com: sclp fix]
      [mp3@de.ibm.com: warning fix for tty3270]
      [hugh@veritas.com: fix tty_ioctl powerpc build]
      [jdike@addtoit.com: uml: fix ->set_termios declaration]
      Signed-off-by: default avatarAlan Cox <alan@redhat.com>
      Signed-off-by: default avatarMartin Peschke <mp3@de.ibm.com>
      Acked-by: default avatarPeter Oberparleiter <oberpar@de.ibm.com>
      Cc: Cornelia Huck <cornelia.huck@de.ibm.com>
      Signed-off-by: default avatarHugh Dickins <hugh@veritas.com>
      Signed-off-by: default avatarJeff Dike <jdike@addtoit.com>
      Cc: Paolo 'Blaisorblade' Giarrusso <blaisorblade@yahoo.it>
      Signed-off-by: default avatarAndrew Morton <akpm@osdl.org>
      Signed-off-by: default avatarLinus Torvalds <torvalds@osdl.org>
      606d099c
  11. 05 Oct, 2006 1 commit
    • David Howells's avatar
      IRQ: Maintain regs pointer globally rather than passing to IRQ handlers · 7d12e780
      David Howells authored
      
      
      Maintain a per-CPU global "struct pt_regs *" variable which can be used instead
      of passing regs around manually through all ~1800 interrupt handlers in the
      Linux kernel.
      
      The regs pointer is used in few places, but it potentially costs both stack
      space and code to pass it around.  On the FRV arch, removing the regs parameter
      from all the genirq function results in a 20% speed up of the IRQ exit path
      (ie: from leaving timer_interrupt() to leaving do_IRQ()).
      
      Where appropriate, an arch may override the generic storage facility and do
      something different with the variable.  On FRV, for instance, the address is
      maintained in GR28 at all times inside the kernel as part of general exception
      handling.
      
      Having looked over the code, it appears that the parameter may be handed down
      through up to twenty or so layers of functions.  Consider a USB character
      device attached to a USB hub, attached to a USB controller that posts its
      interrupts through a cascaded auxiliary interrupt controller.  A character
      device driver may want to pass regs to the sysrq handler through the input
      layer which adds another few layers of parameter passing.
      
      I've build this code with allyesconfig for x86_64 and i386.  I've runtested the
      main part of the code on FRV and i386, though I can't test most of the drivers.
      I've also done partial conversion for powerpc and MIPS - these at least compile
      with minimal configurations.
      
      This will affect all archs.  Mostly the changes should be relatively easy.
      Take do_IRQ(), store the regs pointer at the beginning, saving the old one:
      
      	struct pt_regs *old_regs = set_irq_regs(regs);
      
      And put the old one back at the end:
      
      	set_irq_regs(old_regs);
      
      Don't pass regs through to generic_handle_irq() or __do_IRQ().
      
      In timer_interrupt(), this sort of change will be necessary:
      
      	-	update_process_times(user_mode(regs));
      	-	profile_tick(CPU_PROFILING, regs);
      	+	update_process_times(user_mode(get_irq_regs()));
      	+	profile_tick(CPU_PROFILING);
      
      I'd like to move update_process_times()'s use of get_irq_regs() into itself,
      except that i386, alone of the archs, uses something other than user_mode().
      
      Some notes on the interrupt handling in the drivers:
      
       (*) input_dev() is now gone entirely.  The regs pointer is no longer stored in
           the input_dev struct.
      
       (*) finish_unlinks() in drivers/usb/host/ohci-q.c needs checking.  It does
           something different depending on whether it's been supplied with a regs
           pointer or not.
      
       (*) Various IRQ handler function pointers have been moved to type
           irq_handler_t.
      
      Signed-Off-By: default avatarDavid Howells <dhowells@redhat.com>
      (cherry picked from 1b16e7ac850969f38b375e511e3fa2f474a33867 commit)
      7d12e780
  12. 28 Sep, 2006 1 commit
  13. 27 Sep, 2006 6 commits
  14. 26 Aug, 2006 1 commit
  15. 02 Aug, 2006 1 commit
    • Kim Oldfield's avatar
      USB: New USB ID for Belkin Serial Adapter · b7aa94b6
      Kim Oldfield authored
      
      
      Can you add the USB IDs for the Belkin USB Serial adapter (P/N F5U257)
      to the pl2303 driver in the Linux Kernel? Are you the appropriate person
      to approach for this?
      
      I recently purchased a Belkin USB Serial adapter (P/N F5U257) and found
      that it didn't work. After a bit of experimentation I found that it
      works with the pl2303 driver once the ID has been added. See attached
      patch to fix this. Also attached is the output from lsusb -v just in
      case you require any information from there.
      
      
      From: Kim Oldfield <luv@oldfield.wattle.id.au>
      Signed-off-by: default avatarGreg Kroah-Hartman <gregkh@suse.de>
      b7aa94b6
  16. 12 Jul, 2006 3 commits
  17. 30 Jun, 2006 1 commit
  18. 21 Jun, 2006 2 commits
  19. 27 Apr, 2006 1 commit
  20. 14 Apr, 2006 1 commit
  21. 20 Mar, 2006 3 commits
  22. 14 Feb, 2006 1 commit