Commit 6cc26d77 authored by David Hildenbrand's avatar David Hildenbrand Committed by Linus Torvalds
Browse files

virtio-mem: use page_offline_(start|end) when setting PageOffline()

Let's properly use page_offline_(start|end) to synchronize setting
PageOffline(), so we won't have valid page access to unplugged memory
regions from /proc/kcore.

Existing balloon implementations usually allow reading inflated memory;
doing so might result in unnecessary overhead in the hypervisor, which is
currently the case with virtio-mem.

For future virtio-mem use cases, it will be different when using shmem,
huge pages, !anonymous private mappings, ...  as backing storage for a VM.
virtio-mem unplugged memory must no longer be accessed and access might
result in undefined behavior.  There will be a virtio spec extension to
document this change, including a new feature flag indicating the changed
behavior.  We really don't want to race against PFN walkers reading random
page content.

Link: https://lkml.kernel.org/r/20210526093041.8800-6-david@redhat.com

Signed-off-by: default avatarDavid Hildenbrand <david@redhat.com>
Acked-by: default avatarMichael S. Tsirkin <mst@redhat.com>
Acked-by: default avatarMike Rapoport <rppt@linux.ibm.com>
Reviewed-by: default avatarOscar Salvador <osalvador@suse.de>
Cc: Aili Yao <yaoaili@kingsoft.com>
Cc: Alexey Dobriyan <adobriyan@gmail.com>
Cc: Alex Shi <alex.shi@linux.alibaba.com>
Cc: Haiyang Zhang <haiyangz@microsoft.com>
Cc: Jason Wang <jasowang@redhat.com>
Cc: Jiri Bohac <jbohac@suse.cz>
Cc: "K. Y. Srinivasan" <kys@microsoft.com>
Cc: "Matthew Wilcox (Oracle)" <willy@infradead.org>
Cc: Michal Hocko <mhocko@suse.com>
Cc: Mike Kravetz <mike.kravetz@oracle.com>
Cc: Naoya Horiguchi <naoya.horiguchi@nec.com>
Cc: Roman Gushchin <guro@fb.com>
Cc: Stephen Hemminger <sthemmin@microsoft.com>
Cc: Steven Price <steven.price@arm.com>
Cc: Wei Liu <wei.liu@kernel.org>
Signed-off-by: default avatarAndrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>
Signed-off-by: default avatarLinus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
parent 82840451
......@@ -1065,6 +1065,7 @@ static int virtio_mem_memory_notifier_cb(struct notifier_block *nb,
static void virtio_mem_set_fake_offline(unsigned long pfn,
unsigned long nr_pages, bool onlined)
{
page_offline_begin();
for (; nr_pages--; pfn++) {
struct page *page = pfn_to_page(pfn);
......@@ -1075,6 +1076,7 @@ static void virtio_mem_set_fake_offline(unsigned long pfn,
ClearPageReserved(page);
}
}
page_offline_end();
}
/*
......
Supports Markdown
0% or .
You are about to add 0 people to the discussion. Proceed with caution.
Finish editing this message first!
Please register or to comment