Commit f0dbd2bd authored by Bartosz Golaszewski's avatar Bartosz Golaszewski Committed by Linus Torvalds
Browse files

mm: slab: provide krealloc_array()

When allocating an array of elements, users should check for
multiplication overflow or preferably use one of the provided helpers
like: kmalloc_array().

There's no krealloc_array() counterpart but there are many users who use
regular krealloc() to reallocate arrays.  Let's provide an actual
krealloc_array() implementation.

While at it: add some documentation regarding krealloc.

Link: https://lkml.kernel.org/r/20201109110654.12547-3-brgl@bgdev.pl


Signed-off-by: default avatarBartosz Golaszewski <bgolaszewski@baylibre.com>
Acked-by: default avatarVlastimil Babka <vbabka@suse.cz>
Cc: Alexander Shishkin <alexander.shishkin@linux.intel.com>
Cc: Andy Shevchenko <andriy.shevchenko@linux.intel.com>
Cc: Borislav Petkov <bp@alien8.de>
Cc: Borislav Petkov <bp@suse.de>
Cc: Christian Knig <christian.koenig@amd.com>
Cc: Christoph Lameter <cl@linux.com>
Cc: Daniel Vetter <daniel@ffwll.ch>
Cc: Daniel Vetter <daniel.vetter@ffwll.ch>
Cc: David Airlie <airlied@linux.ie>
Cc: David Rientjes <rientjes@google.com>
Cc: Gustavo Padovan <gustavo@padovan.org>
Cc: James Morse <james.morse@arm.com>
Cc: Jaroslav Kysela <perex@perex.cz>
Cc: Jason Wang <jasowang@redhat.com>
Cc: Joonsoo Kim <iamjoonsoo.kim@lge.com>
Cc: Linus Walleij <linus.walleij@linaro.org>
Cc: Maarten Lankhorst <maarten.lankhorst@linux.intel.com>
Cc: Mauro Carvalho Chehab <mchehab@kernel.org>
Cc: Maxime Ripard <mripard@kernel.org>
Cc: "Michael S . Tsirkin" <mst@redhat.com>
Cc: Pekka Enberg <penberg@kernel.org>
Cc: Robert Richter <rric@kernel.org>
Cc: Sumit Semwal <sumit.semwal@linaro.org>
Cc: Takashi Iwai <tiwai@suse.com>
Cc: Takashi Iwai <tiwai@suse.de>
Cc: Thomas Zimmermann <tzimmermann@suse.de>
Cc: Tony Luck <tony.luck@intel.com>
Signed-off-by: default avatarAndrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>
Signed-off-by: default avatarLinus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
parent 15d5de49
......@@ -147,6 +147,10 @@ The address of a chunk allocated with `kmalloc` is aligned to at least
ARCH_KMALLOC_MINALIGN bytes. For sizes which are a power of two, the
alignment is also guaranteed to be at least the respective size.
Chunks allocated with kmalloc() can be resized with krealloc(). Similarly
to kmalloc_array(): a helper for resizing arrays is provided in the form of
krealloc_array().
For large allocations you can use vmalloc() and vzalloc(), or directly
request pages from the page allocator. The memory allocated by `vmalloc`
and related functions is not physically contiguous.
......
......@@ -592,6 +592,24 @@ static inline void *kmalloc_array(size_t n, size_t size, gfp_t flags)
return __kmalloc(bytes, flags);
}
/**
* krealloc_array - reallocate memory for an array.
* @p: pointer to the memory chunk to reallocate
* @new_n: new number of elements to alloc
* @new_size: new size of a single member of the array
* @flags: the type of memory to allocate (see kmalloc)
*/
static __must_check inline void *
krealloc_array(void *p, size_t new_n, size_t new_size, gfp_t flags)
{
size_t bytes;
if (unlikely(check_mul_overflow(new_n, new_size, &bytes)))
return NULL;
return krealloc(p, bytes, flags);
}
/**
* kcalloc - allocate memory for an array. The memory is set to zero.
* @n: number of elements.
......
Supports Markdown
0% or .
You are about to add 0 people to the discussion. Proceed with caution.
Finish editing this message first!
Please register or to comment